Toronto Croquet Club association carnival a success

Toronto Croquet Club's annual Association Croquet Carnival in action.
Toronto Croquet Club's annual Association Croquet Carnival in action.

TORONTO Croquet Club's association carnival and golf gala attracted top players from as far as Sawtell and Coogee.

The three-day carnival was cut back to two days, May 14 and 15, after rain washed out the first day.

Eighteen players took to the courts for the compressed competition.

Port Macquarie's Jim Hicks sailed through A division, posting a perfect score in every game.

Australian women's champion Alix Verge (Coogee) finished second and Newcastle's John Levick third.

The B division was won by Toronto's Nerida Taylor from Maitland's Peter Smith.

Sawtell's Derek Burrows, who remained undefeated throughout the carnival, won C division and Coogee's Val Lloyd was the runner-up.

More than 50 players took part in the Golf Croquet Gala on Friday, May 16.

Brenda Wild (Mount Sugarloaf) and Bill Munns (Toronto) won all four of their matches to take out Group A.

In Group B Keith Harvey (Toronto) and John Edman (Newcastle National Park) were the winners in a close game, with only three hoops difference in the first three places.

Newcastle National Park pair Enid Norris and Judy Nicod won Group C while Fay and Ron Bell from Mount Sugarloaf were successful in Group D and Maureen Dick and Helen Enright (Branxton) took home the trophy for Group E.