Hunter Academy of Sport annual presentation night to recognise local sporting greats

THE Hunter Academy of Sport’s annual presentation night will be held at the University of Newcastle’s Great Hallon Monday, September 1.

At this function, a certificate of participation is presented to each member of the academy’s 27 talent development squads.

One outstanding member of each squad will receive a University of Newcastle scholarship. Scholarship recipients will have attended or have received approved leave of absence from 90 per cent or more of academy training sessions in their chosen sport.

They will have represented the Hunter at state, national or international level and demonstrated significant improvement.

Some special awards will also be presented on the night to other outstanding members of certain squads. 

These awards include the NSW Archery Coaching Academy Award, Northern NSW Branch Field Archery Australia Archery Australia Award, Lords Taverners Award (athletes with a disability), Nance Dwyer Award (athletes with a disability), BMX NSW Scholarship, Noel Harrison Award (cricket), Lords Taverners Award (cricket), Mick Chapman Achievement Award (cycling), AHA Golf Award, Ross Gigg Memorial Award (harness racing), Newcastle District Women’s Hockey Association Scholarship, Newcastle Junior Men’s Hockey Association Scholarship, Beresfield Bowling Club Lawn Bowls Scholarship, Newcastle Netball Association Trophy, Jack Scott Memorial Award (rugby union), Hawthorne Club Award (rugby union), Hunter Region Softball Scholarship, Mossie & Kevin Smith Memorial Award (surfing), Peter Taylor Trophy (tennis), Wallsend Touch Association Encouragement Award, Lake Macquarie City Council Sports Award (track and field), Max Debnam Encouragement Award (track and field) and NSW Water Polo Scholarship.

The five major awards to be presented on the night are: the Dave Williams Memorial Award for the “best and fairest” academy squad member, the Lings Trophy for an outstanding individual sport squad member, the Jack Farrell Memorial trophy for an outstanding performer in a team sport, the Terry Charlton Award for an outstanding male squad member and the Saxon  White Award for an outstanding female squad member.

Each of these award recipients will also receive a Greater Building Society Olympic Sports Scholarship.